Stevenson and Marshall have been a part of Dunfermline and West Fife’s legal heritage for nearly 130 years. However, the legal links stretch back even further with mention of a Mr Thomas Stevenson being a Writer* in the Parish Records of 1861 and his forbears being also associated with the practice of the law.
The partnership began with Mr James R Stevenson, son of aforementioned Thomas Stevenson, setting up the practice in 1888 then being joined by partners Mr David Marshall and his son Thomas Stevenson in 1910.
Having built a large and successful practice in the area, both Messrs Stevenson and Marshall worked widely in the community on various boards and clubs. Indeed Mr David Marshall went on to chair the Carnegie Trust between 1950 and 1955. As part of his tenure he expressed a desire that the Trust use it's funds not just for ‘social’ work but be used for the benefit of the ‘ordinary citizen’.
As a result the visitor centre at Queen Elizabeth Forest Park near Aberfoyle in Scotland was built and named in his honour. It remains in full use to this day and indeed is described as ‘the flagship centre for activities in the Loch Achray and Loch Ard Forests”.
The practice continues to grow and flourish from it's base on East Port, Dunfermline. It has been the nurturing ground for many of the area’s solicitors and a review of staff over the years reveals many young bloods who went on to found their own distinguished practices.
Whilst history is important and our legal system intrinsic to that, to thrive and survive in the 21st century, it is essential to continue to evolve. The practice maintains its traditions of training generations of young solicitors and more recently encouraging staff to undertake their Paralegal qualifications: all building to a wide range of expertise and experience available to clients.
*Writer - Legal writing used to advocate for or to express the resolution of a client's legal matter.